Redskin Potato Salad

 

My chronicle about the struggles of avoiding evil refined sugar seems to be transforming, at least for the time being, into a recipe site. And that’s good sign! My passion for cooking is back, and I’m stoked to make all these variations without sugar, or with very little sugar. So I think this direction is a good one for my food diary. I love to cook, and secondly, to bake. Mostly to cook, since I realize baking often involves lots of sugar to make the chemistry happen in the recipe. Whenever I bake, I end up eating batter or half of the goodies that come out of the oven.  Then I feel crappy about myself, because I realize I’m baking to have a binge fest.

So, back to cooking!

Here’s a great recipe I made this morning. I’ll have it tonight for dinner. Potatoes are a controversial vegetable in the low sugar/low glycemic world.  Some say they’re as bad as refined sugar, since they have a high glycemic index.  Other nutrition experts, such as Kathleen Des Maisons, think they have a place in your diet, and suggest eating your potatoes at night. It’s said that potatoes increase your seritonin levels, which is good at night, since it’s the time most of us need to wind down and relax to have a good night’s sleep. You can’t convince me that the potato is not a wonderful, healthy vegetable. Like other starchy vegetables, it is loaded with fiber. Eat the peelings, and you’ll get a fiber boost. In my humble opinion, peelings are the best part. And it’s common knowledge that the potato is full of Vitamin C.

This recipe uses redskin potatoes. I like using redskin potatoes in potato salad, since the skin add color, and also add extra fiber.   Sometimes potatoes get too mushy in potato salad, but the skin helps keep them together.

  • 2 cups small redskin potatoes
  • 1/4 cup mayonaisse
  • 1 hard boiled egg, peeled and chopped
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon dijon or brown mustard
  • 1 heaping teaspoon capers
  • 1 small clove garlic, crushed and grated
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh grated black pepper
  • salt to taste

Bring salted water to boil in a medium saucepan. Add redskins. Boil over medium high heat until tender but firm. Check with a fork inserted in a potato. Drain, set aside and cool. While the potatoes cool, mix together mayonaisse and the herbs and spices. Fold in green onions and egg pieces.  Cut the potatoes in bite size pieces, and fold into the mixture. Chill for at least an hour before serving. 

Serves 4

This entry was posted in no sugar added, recipes, Sugar Addiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Redskin Potato Salad

  1. slovie64 says:

    I can’t make potato salad. It’s one of those odd things. It always sucks. Good thing I don’t eat them anymore.

  2. sugardiaries says:

    I’ve had frustrating times with potato salad too. That’s why I’ve turned to leaving the skins on the spuds. Seems to prevent the mushies.

Leave a comment